Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , ,

Calliope

Those of you (you beloved, merry few!) who are interested in my Camp activities have probably noticed that I haven’t written a post about it in…11 days.

Yeah…my bad.

A large part of that is because I’ve horribly stuck. Like, staring at the cursor and not even able to think of a cuss word stuck. You see, every writer has this one point where they get blocked. For me, that number is 20,000 words. No matter how much I outline, world build, or prepare, I always get stuck at or near 20,000.

So, today, to motivate myself and hopefully you, here’s some down-and-dirty tricks to escape the clutches of the Dread Pirate Roberts Writer’s Block.

  1. Work on Something Else

If you’re anything like me, you have multiple projects that you could be working on at any given time. Whether this is a flash fiction class you’ve been meaning to take or that pesky blog that hasn’t been updated in 11 days or so, there’s always some form of writing you can be doing.

  1. Don’t Be A Perfectionist

This counts for a lot of things during NaNoWriMo, from content to word quality. Sometimes, just coming up with a funny conversation or a ridiculous situation can take the pressure off with your writing…even if it will never make it into the draft.

  1. Backtrack to Make Progress

It sucks, but sometimes you have to take two steps back in order to move forward. Even though I have a little over 20,000 words, I’m only positive that about 3,000 will make it into the final first draft. Right now, I’m following different trails and looking for the story in my story. Don’t look at backtracking as a failure though! Sometimes it takes a few tries to get things right.

  1. Figure Out What’s Wrong

Sometimes the problem is that there was one crucial element that you overlooked in the planning process *cough,cough* worldbuilding *cough, cough* that you really need to figure out before moving forward. In my story, I’m beginning to realize that the struggle between magic and technology is a huge factor in the events. What did I forget to figure out? Why, the technology available and how magic works in my world. This can happen with a lot of other things though too, including plot, characters, and themes.

Welp, I guess I need to get back to work. Good luck to everyone else on their writing and feel free to write some ways that you combat writer’s block in the comments below!

