Tags

, , , , , , ,

Camp-Participant-2015-Web-Banner

Hey everyone!

It looks like I fell a bit behind on keeping up with my day-to-day Camp updates. My bad. I have a few reasons/excuses for that though.

Mainly, my work schedule was redonk the past couple of days. From working a 2-11 shift on the 4th to getting a stomach bug and sleeping for about 13 hours a day, it was all I could do to keep up my writing on my draft. Yesterday, I didn’t even do that because I was so exhausted.

Today, I’d like to talk about something that I’m coming to realize the longer I do this whole writing thing.

Newbie writers hear a lot of advice. However, some gems that are thrown our way — and are reinforced by events like NaNoWriMo – is that you have to a) write every day and b) write no matter what’s going on in your life.

All in all, I agree with that. However, I also think that that advice can be a bit damaging as you become more experienced. As I’ve gotten more projects under my belt, I’m starting to realize that writing is something that will always be there. It’s not some helter-skelter race to the finish, but a permanent part of what makes me, well, me.

Yesterday, I almost fell into the thinking that all of this was a competition and a race. I had already fought through two days of writing and I was exhausted and crabby and tired and I didn’t even want to look at my computer, much less type anything.

So, I laid down. I ate cherry Pop-tarts and pizza-flavored Pringles and watched NCIS on Netflix. I wrestled with my dogs and talked on the phone to my best friend and laughed with my dad. I went to bed early and slept in late.

And I feel so much better about life. I feel so much better about writing and exercise and all of the other wonderful minutiae of living.

I don’t even feel guilty. Because I knew that the writing would be there today. I knew I was stuck and that my brain needed to cool off a bit before I could tackle the transition from ‘Opening Scene’ to ‘Instigating Incident’.

So, if at the end of this first week of Camp, you’re feeling a little homesick and a little tired and a little worn, take a breather. Smell the roses and enjoy the sunsets.

Writing will still be there when you get back.

Current Progress: 4,928/30,000

