Tags

, , ,

Camp-Participant-2015-Web-Banner

Hey everyone!

Camper Sara here, reporting in!

Day 2 of Camp NaNoWriMo was a bit busier, since I had to work instead of having a day off. I finished my word count and got a little bit over. Not a lot over, but a little bit. Yet again, pre-planning definitely saved me!

Another thing that I realized was the importance of milestones in my characters journey.

Over the past few weeks, I’ve been reading books that have done this beautifully. One of these books was Neverwhere by Neil Gaiman and the other was Dragons of Autumn Twilight by Margaret Weis and Tracy Hickman. These books have really great journeys that are simple and effective. Following their example, I’ve been trying to make sure that my draft isn’t one quick shot to the end-boss, but several increasing steps to an ultimate goal. So, I’ve introduced two minor villains and have some ideas on other conflicts that will appear and throw a snag in things.

What really surprises me though, is how much easier it is to write in those smaller arcs. It lengthens my scenes, develops my characters, and is just an all around awesome thing to keep me interested in my story.

Current Progress: 2,057/30,000

