Tags

, , , , ,

Hello everyone! I just wanted to give a little update on myself and say that I’ve gotten a job! And not just any job, a FULL-TIME job!!!

What does this mean for the blog? Well, aside from posts about how to balance writing with a full-time job(Yay!), it shouldn’t change a whole lot of anything. I’ll still be posting about every other day and will still be writing stories like I always have.

images (4)

I saw a post earlier today over on The Loving Writer about how we, as authors, should treat our writing like another person. You can find the exact blogpost here, so check it out and show some love, ok?

So, with Season Robbins’ advice in mind, I’d like to dive into the relationship between author and page.

There was a time when I saw writing as this huge struggle. I thought that I had to write each day, for hours a day, and constantly check myself and what I was writing. I was under pressure from my grandparents to be perfect and to choose my career right off of the bat.

I told them I wanted to be a writer around the time that Eragon came out and I was under a lot of pressure to write a great novel and get it published so I could cash in on that same kind of fame.

You’ve written your whole life,” my grandma told me, “so you should be ready to publish now! After all, it has to be now or you’ll never be a writer.”

I was 15.

And, ignoring the faulty logic of that entire discussion with my Gran, I had been writing ever since I could write. I wrote lists and stories and ideas. I loved the feel of pen against paper. Writing was my safe haven as a child and young adult.

But, suddenly, there were just too many expectations. At the age of fifteen, I began to struggle, and then stopped, doing what I used to love. Writing wasn’t fun anymore, I didn’t want to face that blank page with all of those thoughts and judgments. As a matter of fact, the blank page became an embodiment of those expectations.

Fast forward to now, and I’ve been writing stories again for the past two years. I’m a new person, a different person, a stronger person.

And yet, there are still times when I sit in front of the computer and my head hurts and I stare at the blank page. There are still times when all of those old fears and expectations try to swallow me whole. There are still times when that blank page is the most wondrous and terrible thing I’ve ever seen.

The question is, if I’m new and different, why am I bringing that old baggage to the writing table?

This is where Season’s post really helped me out. Because, I’ve been at war with the blank page for a long time. And I suspect that a lot of you have too.

But, you don’t have to be.

When I imagined my writing as another person, it surprised me. I saw someone who I’d broken promises to, who was sick of reaching out, who had been rejected. I saw someone who was tired, but still believed; someone who just needed a little love and support from the only person that could really bring them to life–me, the author.

Writing doesn’t have to be a war.

Even if it was, who are we fighting aside from ourselves? Any creative venture, whether it’s writing or drawing or anything, is about communication and creation—creating a relationship with yourself, knowing your own mind, and accepting your own heart.

So, what I’m saying is, don’t fear the blank page as an author. The blank page is you; the most fantastic, wonderful parts of you. And in a war with yourself, you will always be on the losing side. Love yourself, your writing, and all the possibilities of the blank page because they’re infinite and they’re you.

So, what about you? What do you see when you imagine your writing as another person? How can you give a little more love to your writing?

